This!

This article could have been written by me, in so many ways.

THIS ONE! Click me! Yay!

One of the things I love most about being a childhood cancer survivor (And one of the things I love most about my peers) is that life becomes richer and more intense, afterwards. Some of us act invincible. Most of us have said something about how we have already had cancer, what else could happen? If you are reading this and you’re thinking, ‘my daughter/son/cousin/nephew/whatever is a survivor and he/she is not like that!’ then I will say this- they were either too young to have it effect them the same way, they turned to God and immersed themselves in religion instead, or they are really good at hiding their actions from you.

This is just my opinion, of course.

But think about it- for quite some time our brains think we are invincible. Isn’t there a word for that in teens? Anyway, sure. We thought we were invincible, but we knew cancer kills people. Then we got it… and we didn’t die!

I know a lot of survivors that have done a lot of crazy stuff just because they can.

Of course, this same mentality leads most of us to over achieve in a lot of areas and under achieve in other areas.. but that’s another post.

EITHER WAY.

I lived a pretty secretive life for a long time. The risk taking lifestyle got pretty dark in some places.

Then I started fighting against a dark part of myself. There is a big force behind me bettering myself in a lot of ways. THEN I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer (aka cancer #2) and it made life less of a struggle. That risky lifestyle might still be there, but the dark part of it is not fighting so hard to show it’s ugly head.

2 thoughts on “This!

  1. I’m glad you are talking about life now because if you kept all this inside we would be the poorer for it. Thanks for blogging and for sharing this additional story of personal growth.

Leave a Reply

