Lions and Tigers and Bears

You guys… YOU WILL NEVER GUESS WHAT HAPPENED.

Never.

It’s okay, though, because I’m going to tell you!

I am NOT having another surgery! Yay! Hooray! Do the Harlem Shake! Woo!

During my previous surgery, they removed what would ‘normally’ be removed in a mastectomy and the surgeon and pathologist knew by looking at it that the margins wouldn’t be clear, so they removed ANOTHER bit.

The pathology report is correct in saying that margins aren’t clear. However, it is also correct in saying that they ARE clear. You see, it is written out of order. It lists the second section that was removed first. It says those margins are clear. Below that, at the end of the report, it lists the first sections margins and that they are not clear.

That may not make any sense. If not, what it means is that someone didn’t read the report thoroughly and notice that it was written out of order. IT MEANS THAT MY MARGINS ARE CLEAR! Yay! Clear Margins! It means that I don’t have to have surgery! Yay! I can keep recovering without starting over!

More good news? I got rid of my drain today! I am no longer carrying around a bulb of blood and other fluids. I don’t have to find a place to shove a blood bulb when I get dressed! (You’d think it would make sense to just shove it where the boob used to be, and I have, but eventually, you gotta move it… it starts to get a littttle uncomfortable. And I realized someone might see it and think I had funky cleavage.)

Now that I can’t shove the blood bulb into the empty place on my chest for a faux boob, I guess I can start wearing my fake boob!

Actually, I did that today.

I tried a few days ago and just couldn’t figure the thing out.

I had it all wrong! No idea what I was doing.

Then Whitney, my sister, comes in this morning and holds it up to her boob like she just KNOWS how to wear it. I’m glad someone understands it or I’d just shove some socks in a bra (when I can wear one, again) and call it done!

Now that surgery is out of the way, on to radiation! I’ll start in a few (4ish) weeks! (No details, yet. Must see my radiologist and oncologist before I can tell you those.)

One thought on “Lions and Tigers and Bears

Leave a Reply

