The Cancer will come out Tomorrow,

Tomorrow!

Ok that was corny.

Tomorrow is my mastectomy!

Yesterday I had all of these thoughts about it and I told myself I’d write today. I can’t even get back to that place in my head today, though. I’m just in this state of mind that is similar wanting to finish a painting, or the last seconds before you begin a very important test, or right before you open that letter from your college of choice to find out if you are accepted. All of these things are also directly comparable to how I felt as a kid, when I was very, very hungry and the adults took too long to pray before Thanksgiving dinner. I could think of things like this all day if I thought someone wanted to read it, because I’m crazy wordy. But I was going somewhere with all of this…

I am READY to Run to the Bear.

Tomorrow marks the day that my treatment STARTS. The day that we begin to learn about the cancer, its personality, how it has affected my body and how it can continue to do so once it is removed.

But what are they physically doing, you may wonder? All they are doing is removing it. They are going in and removing my entire left breast, including the skin. This is called a Total Mastectomy. They are biopsying my axillary lymph nodes and if those come back compromised, they will biopsy all of them.

I will only be in the hospital overnight; however, since I am an amputee that chooses crutches over a prosthetic, I will be very immobile once I get home. I’m kind of sad about that. I am not a good recluse unless I’m already depressed… you guys may hear from me a lot during my recovery.

Post surgery, aside from being immobile, I’ll know what will happen to me as far as treatment goes. I wish I could say I will know when I leave the hospital, but I won’t. I can say that I will know by the end of the week, though. I cannot wait.

But tonight?! Tonight we feast! I am going by the hospital so I can get a shot at 4PM, then  meeting up with family so I can chow down pre-surgery!

3 thoughts on “The Cancer will come out Tomorrow,

  1. Hey girlie, we may have our differences, but you’re one of the strongest people I’ve ever met, and you’ve got nothing but respect from me. Know that I’ll be thinking about you and praying for you. And congrats on the engagement! Pretty ring!!

    Hammerman

  2. I had a lumpectomy and then two weeks later a mastectomy of the left boobie, my margins were okay, but I had more cancerous cells in the boob so it had to go, as well as all f the lymph nodes. and am 13 days past that. Today, I loaded the dishwasher and tied my hair in a pony tail. But Shhhh, don’t tell my husband lol! I just wanted to say that your engagement ring is amazeballs!

    • That’s great! My freakin recovery time is long because Im so tightly stretched and because of starting all over- that kind of sucks doesnt it? thinking youre getting somewhere and starting over.. but ohhh well! but I cannot wait to brush my own hair! My drain comes out tomorrow, so that’s AMAZING for what ill be able to do, as you know! Even if its just a week oh no drain before I start over (minus the lymph biopsy) I am going to relish those days!
      No worries, though! I won’t tell anyone about your defiance! Haha love it! I just know it felt amazing…
      Did you do anything to help your skin not be so tight? Do share the secrets if you did!
      My chest wall is so sore but no big thing- that skin just won’t budge much!
      Thanks for the ring compliment, I adore it!

Leave a Reply

